What’s in My Makeup Bag?

I am definitely one of those women who likes makeup! I can be fairly adventurous with it too– i.e. trying new trends, styles, and colors. It is like an outfit that you can change based on your mood. Less makeup for those summery days when you’ll be at the lake, more makeup for an evening date, or taken to the max for Halloween. I have even done makeovers in the past on my friends for fun (they came out pretty awesome too). For about a month, a couple summers ago, I actually sold makeup through the Mary Kay company. I feel like I have a good eye for what will look good on others. It is more difficult for me to see what would look good on myself, so I have had to learn from trial and error. I have had others ask for advice in regards to makeup due to my knowledge. Also, as I have said in the past, most women do not grow up having someone to show them the ways of makeup, and because of this do not really use it. I firmly believe more women would use it if they had someone to show them how. This is not really a makeup tutorial, merely a glimpse into what I personally use and why. You can make your own decisions from there.

More makeup for Date Night

More makeup for Date Nights

Less makeup for summery days.

Less makeup for summery days.

Bare Minerals I absolutely am a firm believer in Bare Minerals foundation and “Stroke of Light” under eye concealer!! Not because it’s “better for your skin” but because of how it looks. To be honest, it is the most expensive makeup I have ever used. Having said that, I believe it is worth it. I have tried other brands/versions of it, and they do not even come close! And to be fair, mine does last my a good several months, even with heavy use. I use their original foundation, warmth, and mineral veil. I also have the brushes that come with the starter kit and the brush cleanser. As far as foundation goes, I really do love it. Another product of theirs that I am addicted to is the Stroke of Light. I actually have really dark circles under my eyes naturally. Like almost “recovering from a black eye” kind of dark circles. This is something I’m very sensitive about when it comes to my appearance. The Stroke of Light concealer covers the best out of any that I’ve tried so far, and is a must for me. If you are unsure about any of their products you can go by any store that carries it and try it before you buy. They are also pretty good about giving samples and exchanges/returns. I also have their mascara, just because it was on sale when I bought my foundation, but to me a mascara is a mascara.

Mary Kay Having sold and tried most of the products from this makeup line, I know the ins and outs of it fairly well. They have the best foundation primer I have yet to try. The primer is thicker and has a satiny feel to it, instead of almost a lotion consistency that I have encountered with other primers and disliked. I do not really use a whole lot of cleansing products on my skin because my skin is really sensitive, but they have some really great microdermabrasion products and cleansers. The microdermabrasion is a little on the expensive side however. But if you need a deep clean, it is a good option. The primer and other cleansers are pretty reasonable for the price though. As far as actual makeup, their mechanical pencil eyeliners are above average, and I have 3 different colors. They have some amazing lip glosses if you like a gloss instead of a lipstick! My favorite is the “Au Naturel” shade and will run you about $12. Their mascaras are pretty good, but as previously stated, mascaras are all kind of the same for me. I also have several powder eyeshadows and a blush, but these are pretty standard.

Other Odd Items

Of course every makeup bag has it’s odd balls. For me, mine would be a terrific Sephora lipstick, specially selected for my wedding because of it’s neutral color. It’s R21 “Ingenuous” if you’re curious. I have tried a couple other of their lipsticks, which were good, but this one is my favorite! I also have a Wet N Wild liquid waterproof eyeliner that I really like, and is hard to beat at close to $4. There’s also some random cheapy eyeshadows from Dollar Tree, tweezers, nail clippers and that’s about it!

These are just based on my skin and my preferences, but I would love to hear about your favorites! I am always open to suggestions or recommendations. So please leave a comment for me! If you’re looking for some more inspiration, check out my other beauty related post here. Until next time, in the words of Ron Burgundy “keep it classy”.

Categories: Bare Minerals, Beauty, Date Nights, frugal, Makeup, Mary Kay, Sephora | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “What’s in My Makeup Bag?

  1. I’m a lover of bare minerals! I wear it every day xxxxxx

    http://Www.yourfacebutbeterr.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

